Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

The Beacon C of E (VA) Primary School

'Living life in all its fullness' (John 10:10)


1 Beacon Place, Exmouth, Devon, EX8 2SR

01395 264300



Click here to enter Governors' Secure Site 

All Governing Boards, no matter what type of schools or how many schools they govern, have three core functions:

·    Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.

·   Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff, and

·   Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

In our school the Full Governing Board meet once every half-term and are supported by two main Committees, both of which have delegated authority.  These are the Resources Committee which monitors the school finances, personnel, health and safety and premises related matters, and the Curriculum and Learning Committee which focuses on standards and attainments.  All work completed by the Committees is reported back to the Full Governing Board.

In addition, the Board has a Pay Committee which meets at least once a year, a Headteacher’s Appraisal Committee which meets four times a year, and an Admissions Committee which meets at least once a year and as often as needed.  All Committees have delegated responsibilities.

The terms of reference for each of these Committees explains what delegated authority the Committee has been given to make decisions on behalf of the Board, and copies are available on the links below.

‚ÄčOur Governors are from the Church, parents and staff at the school and the wider community and are appointed for four year terms.  All of the Governors are volunteers with some appointments being made by the Church and the Local Authority.  Day to day management decisions are taken by the Headteacher and school staff.  However, the Governing Board is responsible for appointing staff and making policy decisions.

Our Chair of Governors is Mrs Caroline Walshaw.

Our Vice Chair of Governors is Mr Steve Badcott.

Chair of Curriculum and Learning Committee is Mr Paul Stock.

Chair of Resources is Mr Ian Moore.

Lead Safeguarding Governor is Mrs J Harper-Shea.


Governors can be contacted at or through our school office.